Skip to content


Desert Meadows is proud of our staff and students who have earned awards at the state level.

School Awards

Honor Sponsor Year
Silver Achievement Award Positive Behavior intervention & Support Systems 2018
No Place for Hate Anti-Defamation League of Arizona 2016, 2017, 2018
Youth and Government Mock Trial, 3rd Place YMCA 2018

Staff Awards

Honor Sponsor Recipient Year
National Board Certification AZ K-12 Center Mr. Steven Humble 2019
Outstanding Leadership Award Council of Administrators for Special Education Mr. Steve Preis 2017

Student Awards

Honor Sponsor Student Year
Science Fair, 1st Place Laveen School District Selasi Abaya 2019
“I Can Do It” Award Arizona Council for Exceptional Children Barbara Hoyt 2018
“I Can Do It” Award Arizona Council for Exceptional Children Juliana Garcia 2016
“I Can Do It” Award Arizona Council for Exceptional Children Carlos Gaspar 2016
Silver Award, Essay Contest Grand Canyon State Games Elisabeth Montoya 2014

Additionally, we are proud of our students and staff that have been recognized at the district and local levels through awards and scholarships.

Laveen’s Excellence in Education Award

Recipient Year
Steven Humble 2018-2019
Jill Oden 2017-2018
Briza Gutierrez 2016-2017
Maria Bugarin 2015-2016
Brooke Somers 2014-2015

Laveen Excellence in Service Award

Recipient Year
Brandy Seechoma 2019

Laveen Legends Award

Recipient Year
Jenni Urbatsch 2019
Tracey Zolltheis 2018
Brandy Seechoma 2017

Scholarship Recipients

Sponsor Recipient Year
Laveen Youth Sports Scholarship Chris Urbatsch
Owen Kunes
Jerry Cook Scholarship Sabrina Maldonado Cortez 2019
Laveen Lions     Sam Rollins
Denver Bryant
Phoenix Union High School Alumni Alexandria Uribe-Crouse 2019
Steve Preis Scholarship  Emily Cota 2019
PTA Scholarship Bryanna Venegas 2019
Jerry Cook Matt Urbatch 2018
Laveen Education Foundation Eddy Hadzic 2018
Laveen Education Foundation Lynae Martinez 2018
Laveen Lions Club Matthew Miller 2018
Laveen Lions Club Bryce Brown 2018
Phoenix Union High School District Yoselin Saldana 2018